matBURN » Teams » East High (Rochester) » 1926-27
1926-27 East High (Rochester) Wrestling


1926-1927 East Orientals
1926-1927 East Orientals
WRESTLING. FRONT ROW: Emanuel Kless (105#), George Rosenthal (160#), Morris Levine (135#), Sol Shapiro (126#). BACK ROW: Robert McKay (coach), Merton Wilkinson (112#), Reuben Dankoff (175#), Robert Fay (147#), Max Pressburg (118#), Frank Medvin (manager). ABSENT: William Matakie (UNL), Hyman Fitelson (alternate), John Andrews (alternate). SOURCE: Orient, East High School (Rochester, NY), 1927.

Season: 1926-27
Team Name: East High (Rochester)
Nickname: Orientals
Colors:
     Purple
     White
Head Coach: Robert B. "Pete" McKay
Manager: Frank Medvin
Attachments: Yearbook page (PDF)
 
Album: General

1926-1927 East Orientals 1926-1927 East Orientals 1926-1927 East Orientals 1926-1927 East Orientals
 
Schedule
Date Time Site Event Location Note(s)
Wed Jan 05 --- AWAY vs. Charlotte (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY W 32-12
Wed Jan 12 --- HOME vs. Edison Tech (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY W 28-16
Wed Jan 26 --- AWAY vs. Marshall (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY W 34-10
Wed Feb 02 --- HOME vs. West High (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY L 20-10
Wed Feb 09 --- AWAY vs. Monroe (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY W 22-18
Wed Feb 23 --- AWAY vs. Edison Tech (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY L 22-8
Wed Mar 02 --- HOME vs. Marshall (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY W 42-0
Wed Mar 09 --- AWAY vs. West High (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY L 22-16
Wed Mar 16 --- HOME vs. Monroe (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY L 22-18
Mon Mar 21 --- AWAY Rochester City Athletic Conference Wrestling Tournament Rochester, NY ---
Wed Mar 23 --- AWAY Rochester, NY 2 champs

Roster
Weight (lbs) Name Hometown Year Matches
105 Fitselson --- --- 1
105 Richey --- --- 1
112 Merton Wilkinson --- --- 3
118 Max Pressburg --- --- 3
126 Andrews --- --- 1
126-135 Sol Shapiro --- --- 5
135 Morris Levine --- --- 2
147 William Benz --- --- 2
160 George Rosenthal --- --- 3
175 Reuben Dankoff --- --- 3
175-UNL William Matakie --- --- 2