matBURN » Teams » Monroe (Rochester) » 1926-27
1926-27 Monroe (Rochester) Wrestling


1926-1927 Monroe Redjackets
1926-1927 Monroe Redjackets
Monroe's wrestlers started strongly, but an unfortunate mid-season slump ruined the championship aspirations of the team. John Williams retained the heavyweight championship, which he won in his first year of interscholastic wrestling. SOURCE: Monrolog, Monroe High School (Rochester, NY), June 1927.

Season: 1926-27
Team Name: Monroe (Rochester)
Nickname: Redjackets
Colors:
     Red
     Blue
     White
Head Coach: Lewis Michelsen
Manager: Ralph Whipple
Attachments: Team photo (PDF)
Yearbook page (PDF)
Yearbook page (copy 2) (PDF)
 
Album: General

1926-1927 Monroe Redjackets 1926-1927 Monroe Redjackets 1926-1927 Monroe Redjackets Monroe's Coaches
 
Schedule
Date Time Site Event Location Note(s)
Wed Jan 05 --- --- vs. Edison Tech (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY ---
Wed Jan 12 --- --- vs. West High (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY ---
Wed Jan 26 --- --- vs. Charlotte (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY ---
Wed Feb 02 --- --- vs. Marshall (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY ---
Wed Feb 09 --- --- vs. East High (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY ---
Wed Feb 16 --- --- vs. Edison Tech (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY ---
Wed Feb 23 --- --- vs. West High (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY ---
Wed Mar 02 --- --- vs. Charlotte (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY ---
Wed Mar 16 --- --- vs. East High (Rochester) [NY] Rochester, NY ---
Mon Mar 21 --- --- Rochester City Athletic Conference Wrestling Tournament Rochester, NY ---
Wed Mar 23 --- --- Rochester, NY ---

Roster
Weight (lbs) Name Hometown Year Matches
--- McFarland --- --- 1
105-112 Harold Hendricks --- --- 3
105 Keeler --- --- 1
112 Sol Saperstone --- --- 3
118 John Stanton --- --- 1
126 Sam Rosenthal --- --- 4
135 Bedford --- --- 1
135 Allan McNab --- --- 1
147 Robert Seibert --- --- 3
160 Bolz --- --- 1
160-175 John Morrison --- --- 2
160 Stein --- --- 1
175 John Williams --- --- 4